FroChic

Love Thy Coils!

Hair accessories

Posted by FroChic on 26/01/2010

Ok ladies, don’t we all just love to accessorize? You know you look good in that outfit, but there is just always that one  ‘touch’ missing…mmmhh, yip, a cute necklace, or those eye-catching earrings, or (lately) a figure-hugging belt to accentuate those beautiful African curves.

Well, its not only your clothes that need that extra touch of bling or cuteness…even that beautiful Afro or locs can look uber stylish!

Now since I’ve gone natural, I love  to accessorize my hair in different styles – from wearing headwraps/ headscarves/iduku, to adorning cute clips and headbands, in all sorts of colours and patterns. The only hair accessory I haven’t tried yet, are those gorgeous summer hats, or the poor boy hats that are normally worn in winter. Whenever I’m out shopping, the first place I visit is the accessories aisle, I’m always on the look out for any new and quirky hair accessories that catch my eyes. I must say one of the few places that are quite creative with their hair accessories has to be Foschini and Identity stores! I find they have a wide variety from casual to formal hair accessories. Foschini does tend to be a bit pricey so if you are working with a budget, you can get beautiful accessories for half the price at Identity!

So, I thought I should share with you some of the different types of hair accessories I own and love 🙂 Plus, I will also show you a few I saw from the net and think are just too adorable…

Some of my hair accessories…

My growing stash of hair accessories

A few cute ones I saw on the net… I came across this website and i just fell in love with their accessories…http://www.andreasbeau.com/

Doesn’t she just look gorgeous?!

What’s nice about hair accessories is that you can either dress them up or down, depending on the occasion and the look you want to achieve. So what hair accessories do you love to wear?

4 Responses to “Hair accessories”

  1. Aisha said

    I love all kinds of accessories from earrings to bangles to statement necklaces. Since going natural, my collection of hair accessories has exploded! I’ve always loved scarves but now I have a hair flower in every colour. I love funky headbands and cute clips too. I love jazzing my fro up with something cool and bright. I love Mr. Price for some cheap hair stuff and Woolies always has beautiful pins and scarves. Where does everyone else get their stuff from?

  2. Charoche said

    This entire blog is awesome. I have been looking for styles for my natural hair as the pony tail has been so played out already. Really glad to have stumbled on this blog.

  3. misslycia said

    Great post! I think accessories are a must-have for any outfit. It can turn an outfit from casual to elegant, and vice versa. It really accentuates natural hair, especially ‘fros and locs.

  4. Beautiful accessories! I would like to wear that third one brown colored hair band.

Leave a comment