FroChic

Love Thy Coils!

Nipha: Shortest definition of Diva

Posted by FroChic on 20/01/2010

So EHP aka germ freak, Nipha agreed to be profiled on FroChic to represent the beautiful naturals rocking locs. Style doesn’t even begin to describe this girl.

Feed your eyes:

I’ve been rockin locs since April 2004

I decided to go natural because chemicals were too high maintenance and I’d relax my hair and after two weeks it was back to being kinky at the roots (need a touch up) and I honestly don’t think relaxed hair really suited me.

The reactions I got when I took the decision to go natural were amazing; when I BC’d I went really really short…I loved it and people thought it was the best thing like it “brought my sexy back” in a way. lol

What I love about my locs is that I can play around with them a lot, I can go short, curly, straight, fringe, highlights…i can do elegant to funky with them…and most importantly they never break like my relaxed hair used to.

The style I love rockin has to be the curls (Bantu knot outs).

I use Stylin dreadz spray for sheen & moisture.

My favorite hair salon right now is Dreadlock Dreams in Durban. Even though I only discovered it about a year ago no one comes close. When I’m in Joburg, it has to be Mapawu Hair salon in Braamfontein.

I had beautiful long and healthy looking relaxed hair but it jst was not me

I plan on trimming them sometime as I don’t want them to get too long (waistline length).

I still get a few stereotypes who assume I’m Rastafarian. They go as far as calling me “Jah lady” or even “Jah man” lol

My secret to the most fabulous locs: Patience & lots of love

Bedtime: I wear the great black stalking aka mgusha…lol and yes it works wonders in keeping every hair in place

Fashion: I like anything that stands out, I’m really feeling the bright coloured skinnies at the moment and wedge hills and sling bags

Holllrrrrrrrr….

4 Responses to “Nipha: Shortest definition of Diva”

  1. mbuso said

    keep them locks…

  2. Zandi said

    Nipha!! u look gr8! Beautiful pics ~wínk~

  3. […] Remember Nipha? Once profiled here on FroChic before. she was one of the readers who jumped at the opportunity to win the Thank God I’m […]

  4. charlotte said

    nice, i love, i love

Leave a comment