FroChic

Love Thy Coils!

What’s your hair type?

Posted by FroChic on 29/01/2010

I’m sure we’ve all heard or read on hair types. There’s even plenty of videos on YouTube.

So after a long search on hair type charts we could …well…borrow, we found a much more expanded & clear one at  longhaircareforum.com. It was posted by a lady by the username of “Silvergirl”. She shows the broader diversity of natural hair types.

Breaking it down:

There’s 4 hair types

Type 1: Straight
Type 2: Wavy
Type 3: Curly
Type 4: Kinky

Below is a visual description of the different hair types:

Please look here for a much bigger & clearer image.

Now I’ve noticed that most black people in SA fall under the last 5 groups of Type 4 hair: 4d-4h

I’d put most coloureds between group 2a and 4c (I stand to be corrected though). Having said that, I’ve also seen coloreds with the kinkiest of tresses.

I fall under one of the last 2 groups of  Type 4 hair & still struggling to find what works for my hair in terms of regime, styling & products.

What is your hair type and what haircare system works for you?

One Response to “What’s your hair type?”

  1. paramourinwaiting said

    I’m a 4a and 4b in my kitchen I’ve tried it all. Miss Jessie’s, Carol’s Daugther, Oyin, etc. I discovered Taliah Waajid’s line in November and I’ve been using it ever since. My fav product is the protective mist bodifier (medicated formula). It’s a water based daily leave in. It leaves my hair soft and reduces my itching. It detangles my hair and the dandruff in my scalp has decreased dramatically. The prices are very reasonable.

    But I’m still having problems with peppercorn knots on my ends.

Leave a comment