FroChic

Love Thy Coils!

Movie Review: Good Hair

Posted by FroChic on 08/06/2010

Good Hair movie

Finally, the movie has landed on South African shores! I’m sure many of us have  all seen Chris Rock’s widely publicized interview with Oprah (where Oprah mentions that she doesn’t wear any weaves), but we kept wondering when will we get to see this movie…

Well, I got a chance to see a special screening of this docu-drama last week Sunday with a friend, who had won double tickets to the screening. When she told me I could accompany her, I was over the moon, not only because I love movies (and Chris Rock ;-)) but also the fact that it’s a movie that takes a look at the whole obsession that we as black women have with the pursuit of “Good Hair”.

In a nutshell, what I can say is: if you’ve ever gotten a relaxer or have worn a weave (especially the 100% human hair ones) before ; then you definitely have to see this movie. This movie will have you laughing and saying “oh yes!”, “I agree” & “aha” to a lot of the experiences that the other black women (and men) being interviewed in the movie, have gone through. Chris Rock also interviews a few African-American celebrities like Nia Long, Megan Good, Raven Symone (yip, that’s not all her hair people) & Ice-T, amongst others.

In the movie, Chris Rock  takes a look at WHERE 100% human hair weaves come from (you’ll be very surprised!) and also what harsh/dangerous chemicals are actually being put in our relaxers. He also interviews everyday African-American people, from barbershops and salons, who also bring in an element of humor to the movie.

The movie opened officially at cinemas on Friday, 4 June. Please go check out and let us know what you thought of it?

All I can say is that it definitely gave me more motivation to stay natural 🙂

Leave a comment