FroChic

Love Thy Coils!

Repost: Managing Our Daughter’s Hair

Posted by FroChic on 04/06/2010

When we read this post a while ago on one of our favourites blogs, Une Autre Naturelle, we knew we had to repost it here on FroChic, seeing that we have a lot of mommies, daddies and aunties among our readers. So today we wanna share with you guys. You can read the original story (with video) here.

The night before I wash:

  • I mix Castor oil, olive oil, and jojoba oil together.
  • I section my daughter’s hair
  • I apply the oil mixer (with an applicator) to her roots.
  • I use the remaining oil mixer predominately on the ends of her hair and rub the remaining into her hair.
  • After I have applied oil in each section of her hair I cover her hair with a satin bonnet and off she goes to bed

The morning after:

  • After breakfast, I wash her hair with diluted castile soap
  • Then I apply a conditioner mix (conditioner, coconut oil, olive oil)
  • When applying the conditioner mix, I section her hair and apply in sections
  • Once the conditioner has been applied I comb out her hair (again, in sections)
  • I twist the hair that has been combed out
  • Once all her hair is combed and twisted, I place a plastic cap on her hair & leave in for 20 minutes to 1 hour.  (to be honest, this gives me time to clean up and prepare dinner)
  • Once the allotted time has passed, I rinse her hair with warm then cool water (keeping the hair in the sections)

Hair Style:

Now that I have finished washing her hair, I apply…

  • Hair Milk
  • Shea Butter Leave in Conditioner
  • Always have a spray bottle available (water, olive oil, jojoba oil)
  • I normally use a protective style with her hair – double strand twist and seal her ends with coconut oil
  • I like this because I am able to keep her hair like this for at least two weeks but it can look different every day

Oils I used:

Castor Oil: Coats the hair shaft, smooth cuticle layer, seals moisture leaving hair feeling soft.  I would avoid this if you are prone to an oily scalp.

Olive Oil: naturally rich in Vitamin E, restores luster. Good for dandruff suffers.

Jojoba Oil: known to develop new hair growth by dissolving build up on the scalp, smooths out cuticles, helps hair stay healthy and clean

Coconut Oil: known as an excellent conditioner, keeps your hair free of dandruff

Much love to Daphne at http://anothernaturelle.wordpress.com/

Leave a comment