FroChic

Love Thy Coils!

Product review: TREsemmé Vitamin E Moisture Rich Conditioner

Posted by FroChic on 21/05/2010

Since going natural and reading up about what products are good for our natural hair; I’ve just become so obsessed in trying out different types of conditioners with the aim of finding the RIGHT one. Guys, I seriously think I’m a product junkie sometimes, but I’m not complaining…lol.

The most recent conditioner that I’ve tried is TREsemmé Vitamin E Moisture Rich Conditioner for dry or damaged hair. I’ve been hearing a lot of raves about it (ok, more from white folks than from the black community, but hey the label doesn’t say its just for straight, long & silky hair, right? lol)  so I thought why not try it out? it might just be what I’ve been looking for all along…

I’ve been using TREsemme Vitamin E Conditioner for about a month now, so I thought it will be a great idea to share with you on what I thought of it:

Texture: it’s got quite a thick, almost custardy type of texture and it’s white in colour. Personally, I love a conditioner that is thick in texture because when I lather it onto my hair, I don’t want it running down too much on my forehead or neck. I just feel the thicker it is, the more it will penetrate into the hair follicles. And a small amount goes a long way.

Smell: Oooh I love the smell. Its not too perfumey or overpowering but it’s got that light, clean, just-stepped-out-the-shower type of smell. 

Slip: From what I understand “slip” is how easy it is to run your comb through you hair while the conditioner is in your hair. Well, this product is good on that front. My comb glides very easily through my hair and the knots just melt away 🙂 (Please remember to always use a wide-toothed comb when combing through you hair and preferably when your hair is wet or damp)

Price: R69.99 @ Clicks stores.

Ingredients: Water Aqua , Quaternium-18 , Cetyl Alcohol , Stearamidopropyl Dimethylamine , Cocodimonium Hydroxypropyl Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, Tocopheryl Acetate , Biotin , Niacinamide , Ascorbic Acid , Panthenol , Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis Fruit Extract Sweet Almond , Corylus Avellana Leaf Extract Hazel , Helianthus Annuus Extract Sunflower , Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract , Epilobium Angustifolium Flower/Leaf/Stem Extract , Foeniculum Vulgare Fruit Extract Fennel , Hydroxyethylcellulose , Stearyl Alcohol , Glyceryl Stearate , Butylene Glycol , Quaternium-80 , Steareth-21 , Dimethicone , Disodium PEG-12 Dimethicone Sulfosuccinate , Oleamine Oxide , Propylene Glycol , Glycerin , Citric Acid , PVP , Polysorbate 20 , DMDM Hydantoin , Disodiium EDTA , Fragrance Parfum

I’m not sure if this will become my staple conditioner, but I”ll keep using it until the bottle is finished (its a huge bottle, all 900ml of it!). That said, its size is definitely not user-friendly. I find that its too heavy to hold for long, sometimes you just want something small and light to fit into your hand. There are however, smaller travel size bottles available which might be a better option. The only disadvantage will be that you will run out sooner…

My verdict:  give it a try, maybe it might just be what you are looking for.

~Nangamso

3 Responses to “Product review: TREsemmé Vitamin E Moisture Rich Conditioner”

  1. Good point that I had never thought of before.

  2. frochic said

    Please do girl. I haven’t seen the RE moisturizer one yet but its probably stocked in other stores.

  3. teetee said

    I bought tressme conditioner also, i bought the kind that said RE moisturizer…. i have not used it yet, i will use it asap and give u some feed back girl…

Leave a comment