FroChic

Love Thy Coils!

I’m losin’ it!!

Posted by FroChic on 04/03/2010

My hair that is.

So this is how long & healthy my hair was 3-4years ago. It was well-moisturized, thick & didn’t give me any issues. My daily regimen was a walk in the park. I’d wake up, take a shower; either tie it back or let it loose (straight back or do a little side part) or accesorize with a nice headband…put on my make-up…get dressed & then I was out the door. Very simple

and theeeeeeeeen…..One day I woke up & decided to chop it all off. all of it. Yip, all those 5 years of beautiful locs..gone. Blame it on baby blues.

So, since then it’s been braids, plaits(cornrows), weaves & a short 2month period of the LYE.

So now it’s been a little over a year since my last BC and this is what I have to show

Don’t be fooled ya’ll…behind this front of a beautiful mane…there’s a lot of frustrations, tears & deep shame…daily shedding of my once most complemented hair.

Right at the back, nape of my neck…my hair is shorter than 2cm…a year lateerrr. arrgggh. See:-

This adds to the struggle of finding the right products to work with my hair.

So right now I’m considering the following(in order):

  • Hiding in under braids & weaves for the next 6-12 months like a transitioner
  • Lockin it (that’s if it promises to grow)
  • Choppin it short & start afresh (last option yet tempting)

The last one would be my last option as I feel I’ve come a long way to chop it all off. Plus I don’t look that hot with very short hair.

**Deep sigh** SMH. I need prayer. No joke.

11 Responses to “I’m losin’ it!!”

  1. […] Remember at the end of  my frustration post, I listed 4 possible options for me as my next step? Well, I opted for protective […]

  2. frochic said

    Why thanks girl. What protective styles do you usually wear? I’m pretty much getting tired of all these every night twist marathons & also scared braiding it, I’ll lose my hairline. But thanks for the tips. Good to know there’s someone out there with my hairtype.lol

  3. kadiane*francophone said

    Oh! i forgot! The hair band is a NO NO NO. You will loose all you hair. Hairband is a luxury for special occasions only. You better have a satin hairband.

  4. kadiane*francophone said

    The only reason I can think of is bad manipulation. Our hair is very fragile. You do not go to sleep without a satin cap on. If not you will loose it as it grows. The problem is not about growing the hair. It always grows. It is about retaining length. You should not comb more then once a week. every 2 weeks is even better. you always comb from the tip of the hair till you reach the root with wide tooth comb only.Be very gentle. Never comb when dry alway have water and a load of conditioner in it. 3/4 your hair should be in protective style. Forget about retaining length if you do not protective style. I won’t happen. make sure you do not let your hair lock in this styles though. My hair is similar to your , i have not combed it since October. I finger separate it to finger comb it when stretched. That is all. My hair is the longest it has never been. It is 9 inches now. I have never reached 6 inches in the past weather natural or relaxed. I have come across a lot ladies with the same complain as you. The were not doing much of the above recommendations. When they got fed up and followed it hair started elongating.

  5. natural hair is the best, I have been having natural hair since 2005 and I am loving it so much. I used to relax my hair and was never happy about my hair then, it was contantly breaking, britle and used to have dry scalp. but ever since I changed from relaxed to natural hair I am more confindent and content with my look. I dont have dreadlock or weaves but I wear my natural afro. My afro has grown so much its beautiful and soft, it was not always like that until I stated using JO’M natural products designed for natural hair they make natural hair soft and easy to manage. they are available at clicks store. you will never regret it just like I do.

    Natural hair its the way to go!!!! check out http://www.jomcosmetics.co.za

  6. Kiyah said

    I feel you sis! I’ve had locs off and on for the past decade and every time I chop I miss my big, long thick hair! When you’re in that in between stage (not short enough for the ease of wash and go but not long enough for all the effort to really feel worth it) it can be so depressing especially when it’s taking a while to see serious growth. But speaking from experience don’t make any rash hair decisions out of frustration! I’d say give it a while longer. Keep experimenting and in the meantime rock as many protective styles as you can think of (twists, flat twists, box braids, cornrows) to help with the growth. Who says only loose and/or long styles are glam??? So rock the heck out of what you got! :o)

  7. Nipha said

    I say be patient love and neva stop searching for good products to keep yo hair healthy, I knw u will find something eventually.And the shorter hair at the back will jst have find a way to catch up with the rest cos I think a BC at this moment is not an option.

  8. frochic said

    Thanks ladies for your support & advise. I’ve tried castor oil since I last posted this & have been noticing less hair loss & more life on my hair.
    @misslycia, thanks for the complements but I really don’t like how I feel when my hair’s short. I feel more masculine since I’m a thin & tall person.
    @Bonolo, I’ve seen you short & you look as equally great as you do with long.
    @Lebo, maybe braids. Weaves…I donno.

  9. misslycia said

    Best wishes to you. I understand your frustration. I have been natural for five years, and there were times when my hair growth seemed to come to a standstill (I realized later it was breakage.)

    Whatever you decide to do, I wish you the best and offer the utmost support. By the way, you look fabulous with long or short hair. 🙂

  10. We have all gone through it..right now,Im jus doin bits nd bobs evry once in a while..right nw ive done kinky twist,which r drivin me nuts cz they itch lyk hell!I have 2 keep them for at least a month,or madre will flip with the constant hair changes!Braid or sumthn,it keeps ur hands off ur head!

  11. Lebo said

    girl i feel your frastration.but you know what they say about patience.
    I say,go with the first option.try to have fun with all these funky weaves and braids.there’s to much variety these days,i m sure you’ll love them.

Leave a comment