FroChic

Love Thy Coils!

Does natural hair require one to up their game?

Posted by FroChic on 14/12/2009

I was shopping with two of my friends the other day; one natural (locks) & the other with straight, relaxed hair. I was not the only one that noticed how myself & the other natural were gravitated towards big & colorful accessories (Shades, earrings, bangles & necklaces, belts) among other trendy items; but my other friend with relaxed hair also noticed.

She then asked “How come a lot of naturals love big earrings?”.

“Because when you have hair like ours, you need to up your game when in comes to style.” answered my natural friend.

And then it dawned on me, many naturals that I’ve met, seen on TV, magazines & the Internet really have they’re unique style going on. Not to mention to-the-T-make-up. Yes, many naturals are uniquely stylish. Does it come naturally or do we feel that we look less beautiful with natural hair, that we have to go the extra mile to look exceptionally beautiful?

Another natural friend of mine sent me a pic of hers the other day. She’s got BEAUTIFUL, healthy looking, thick tresses, but you wont believe the 2nd thing I picked up on her after her hair… her ungroomed brows. Yes. Before she went natural, she didn’t bother to groom them (just brushed them neatly) but I never took notice. All i saw was her breathtaking beauty. Now that she’s natural, I felt that the bush had to go(yes, I told her when we spoke on the phone later on and she laughed it off.lol). A large percentage of natural ladies I’ve met, seen in magazines, TV & the Internet have a really polished look on the face & their fashion sense in mind-blowingly awesome. They stand out. I’ve been reading a number of natural hair sites & noticed in many interviews,  the usual answer to the question “How do you feel after going natural?” is usually,”liberating.”

Does liberating mean one can now express their unique style which was overshadowed or limited when they were still tying to fit in the society with straight hair?

No wonder people used to think I was an artist when I had locks.lol.

Question: Do we get creative when we go natural?

M.

6 Responses to “Does natural hair require one to up their game?”

  1. Sindy said

    Very interesting question!

    It is a trend for naturals to “up their game” when it comes to fashion. But I think once you settle into your look, you go back to who you are naturally. Everything is a process including being natural.

  2. Hmmm. This is an interesting question. I can’t speak for anyone else but myself, though. I still shun make-up but I’m fastidious about maintaining my eyebrows. So no, it’s a highly personal thing and we all make different choices.

  3. Taurusga said

    I dont think that being natural requires one to up their game, but I know that I did. I certainly do not feel less beautiful. It’s actually quite the opposite. I feel that my natural hair accentuates my beauty more than my boring relaxed hair ever did. However, I do feel that I’ll be more scrutinized w/my hair natural, if that makes sense. My hair commands attention because it’s different from the norm. So, since I know that I’ll get attention, I want to look my best. I kind of feel like a walking PSA for natural hair, so I want to represent it to the fullest. 🙂

  4. Hani said

    I doubt it is because we feel less beautiful. If you were in the habit of taking care of yourself, your hair, skin, nails…your overall look, it is something that will natually carry over. Just because one has decided to go natural does not mean suddenly they should not look or continue to be their fabulous self. Also, being natural should not be equated with being rebellious. Being natural (hair) that is is a gift from God. Keep it Real.

  5. Kadiane*francophone said

    Does it come naturally or do we feel that we look less beautiful with natural hair, that we have to go the extra mile to look exceptionally beautiful?

    This is a big part of the answer. In my African country, a big part of the scorn about natural hair is that it is not stylish and it is worn by poor and uneducated people that are usually not stylish. Actually, most of the natural styles we had were not. They could have been but they were not bcuz people did not put much effort in making them stylish like we do now on blogs. That is why Natural hair = old fashion in a lot of mind hence the constant effort to look modern in the overall style, in order to beat the stereotype and feel attractive.

    I have heard about American parents telling their girl she looks African (lol) when she went natural. You know…African=dum, uneducated, poor, unstylish, living in the bush ….lol

  6. I think being natural allows one to be creative and express themselves freely with fashion. Being natural can be considered a rebellious action with which one can be their true selves so why not extend that confidence gained from being different with your hair to being different with fashion.

Leave a comment