FroChic

Love Thy Coils!

Our first hair product review: Organic Root Stimulator (ORS)

Posted by FroChic on 11/12/2009

This post is inspired by one of our readers, Kiyah. She wrote a comment on our blog that she is a natural African American lady living in South Africa, but is looking for good natural hair products which she can purchase locally. Well, both of us (Matlhodi and I) are new in this and we are tyring out a couple of hair products which are available here in SA. In most of the sites and blogs we visit, the products listed are usually not available in SA, so the only option would be to purchase the products online, but with the rand-dollar exchange and postal charges, you will pay big time!

Well, no need to worry about that anymore because here you will find product reviews (tried and tested on our hair :-)) of different hair products;  from shampoos to mosturisers, from well-known brands to the not-so-well-known ones. I’m also a self-confessed product junkie, so I’m always willing to try out new things. The main things that matter the most to me are: how the hair product smells, and how soft and mosturised it makes my hair feel.

The brand which both of us have tried so far and love is the Organic Root Stimutalor (ORS) brand. This has only been available in SA  for about year or two now. Initially i was quite skeptical about their products, until i read someone’s product review on this range. So, I decided to give their Hair Mayonnaise a try and what a great experience I had, and needless to say, I never looked back!

ORS Hair Mayonnaise treatment

 

 

 

 

What is it?  This is a deep conditioner and treatment.

Price? R49.99 at Clicks.

Is it any good? Both Matlhodi and I have tried this product and we normally apply it to our hair once or twice a month. We use it as a treatment for our hair. We normally leave it for about 1 hour to 1 hour and half, with our hair covered in a plastic cap (to retain the heat) and then rinse it out. You hair literally feels soft afterwards. It has a ‘herbally’ smell to it, which is not amazing, but its also not too bad. So far we like using this product.

ORS Olive Oil Creamy Aloe Shampoo

 

 

 

 

 

 

 What is it? Its a shampoo for your hair. Its main ingredients are olive oil and aloe vera. It helps to cleanse your hair and scalp from any product build-up and it also helps to mosturise it.

Price and stores where available? R49.99 at Clicks. You can also find it at most local supermarkets and Charlie Parker stores.

Is it any good? From my personal experience, it left my hair feeling hard and void of any moisture after shampooing. It also seemed harsh on my hair, and my hair felt like it was stripped of any little moisture that was there. However, it was good in terms of removing any product build-up on my scalp. My scalp did feel clean afterwards and any grease that was there, was removed. It also smells great – it has a minty and fresh smell to it.

ORS  Olive Oil Replenishing Pak deep penetrating conditioner

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What is it? Its a deep penetrating conditioner, which you can use after every wash. You can find this in a pack or in a bottle.

Price and where its available? R13.99 for the pack and R55.99 for the bottle at Clicks. You can also find it at any local supermarket and Charlie Parker stores.

Is it any good? I love it! It smells great, the smell is that of citrus fruits and it really makes my hair feel soft and moisturized. So far, this is a must in my list of hair products.

ORS Olive Oil incredibly rich oil mosturizing hair lotion

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What is it? Its a hair mosturiser.

Price and where its availabe? R49.99 at Clicks. You can also find it at the same place that sells the ORS brand.

Is it any good? I find that it works best for me if i apply it after spritzing my hair with water or water/glycerine mixture (i think the olive oil in the hair lotion helps to seal in the moisture). Its quite oily, so you don’t want to put a lot of it on your hair. I also don’t use it everyday, because after a while your hair starts to feel greasy. It also smells okayish.lol

Yay! Our first product review.

We plan to test out other hair products that we come across, so we will keep you updated. If you have a product that works for your natural tresses, please feel free to share.

Enjoy!

Nangamso

5 Responses to “Our first hair product review: Organic Root Stimulator (ORS)”

  1. oils for hair…

    […]Our first hair product review: Organic Root Stimulator (ORS) « FroChic[…]…

  2. stephanie said

    hi there, does anyone have a contact number for raf in hillbrow?

  3. Kiyah said

    Thanks!! I’ll be hitting up Dischem and RAF very, very soon! 🙂

    I checked out your Kids page and my daughter and I both loved seeing little Tsoanelo’s hairstory…Thanks so much for thinking of the little ones!!

    [Btw, for other Moms who may be reading this, is another really great resource for Moms of little naturals (black and mixed race) with fun hairstyle ideas.]

  4. frochic said

    Thanks Kiyah. With finding the right products that work for your hair, its all about trial-and-error. So, as long as one product works for you, then thats what matters…but hey this is a product junkie speaking, so trying new products is always fun. lol. Perhaps I will also try that Caivil’s hair mayo one day and see how it works for my hair.

    Regarding different types of combs, check out RAF cosmetics shop in Hillbrow – they stock everything that has to do with hair. You can also try your nearest Dischem store. I bought my plastic shower cap from Clicks, but you can also try Dischem.

    Matlhodi and I are still searching for those satin pillowcases, so if you do find one, please do let us know. Good luck with taking care of your daughter’s natural hair, for more tips you can visit our Kidz zone page to read Little Tsoanelo’s hair story…

  5. Kiyah said

    Wow, thanks so much Nangamso!! The first product review was great! I’m kicking myself right now for not checking the blog before going to the shop yesterday and stocking up on new products! :o( I bought Caivil’s Hair Mayonnaise (which I’ve tried before and has worked really well) but now I’m wishing I had tried out the ORS one. When this runs out I’ll definitely try it! (I’m also a product Junkie, lol).

    I hope I’m not being a pain but I would soooo aopreciate it if you could also direct us to good places to stock up on natural hair tools such as wide tooth combs, satin pillowcases…I don’t even know where to get a plastic shower cap! :o)

    I recently cut out my (4 year old) dreadlocks (my daughter also has locks) so I’m really just getting into the mode of caring for unlocked natural hair so this site is really a life saver! Thanks again and keep up the great work!

Leave a comment