FroChic

Love Thy Coils!

Nomalanga: fierce natural beauty!

Posted by FroChic on 11/01/2010

Meet Nomalanga, a 20-something year old performer and arts and culture activist. Nomalanga has been natural for 9 years now and was kind enough to share some of the different hairstyles she has rocked over the years – enjoy!

My hair care regimen

Biggest natural hair care must haves: shampoo, conditioner, hair food and hair spray. The single most powerful ingredient though is PATIENCE!

For the afro do’s I keep an afro comb and hairspray handy and for the braids and the cornrows a soft brush is key to keep them nice and tidy. I wash my hair at least once a week and these are the products I swear by:

  • Organic Root Stimulator Olive Oil Creamy Aloe Shampoo – restores moisture
  • Organic Root Stimulator Olive Oil Replenishing Conditioner
  • Caivil Natural Options Hair and Scalp Nourisher Spray with Tea Tree oil
  • Caivil Natural Options Moisture Mold – great for dreadlocks (thickness and texture)
  • Caivil Natural Options Hair Food – for keeping hair nourished and healthy

I am always prepared that natural hair WILL misbehave. When all else fails – I simply wear a headwrap.

What prompted me to go natural

When I was at Art School I became quite the scruffy kind along with being a workaholic and spent every waking moment at the art studio. Grooming and looking pretty were so unpopular and a huge waste of time so I just let everything go; including my hair. One day someone said to me “hey you have such nice dreadlocks” and I was like “what dreadlocks?!” Turns out my hair had locked for lack of combing it and I hadn’t even noticed. I then decided to keep it as it was because it was easy to manage. I could just get up in the morning and go! It’s been 9 years now and I wouldn’t go back for anything!

Styles I like to rock

When I want to look cleaner and more polished I rock my Cornrows. I either have my whole head cornrowed or I leave the back undone and comb the afro out.

The afro look is also one of my favourites – I look like my mother back in the 80’s when Afros were hot. It means a lot to me to look like her.

My signature look over the last 3 years has been my long ethnic braids with the side fringe. When I’m rocking this look I feel sassy, stylish and sexy!

Now, that is what we call FIERCE natural beauty!

Leave a comment